Bryan Ferry ‎– Olympia (Vinyl LP)


Super rare on Vinyl

There are two headlines for Olympia, Bryan Ferry’s 13th solo album. The first is that it’s Ferry’s first collection of primarily original material since 1994’s Mamouna — of the ten songs only Tim Buckley's “Song to the Siren” and Traffic's “No Face, No Name, No Number” are from another author — the second is that among the many collaborators here are Brian Eno, Phil Manzanera, and Andy MacKay, all original members of Roxy Music, their presence suggesting a return to the chilly art of Roxy’s earliest records. Neither headline tells the real story: Olympia is Ferry’s most seductive album since Avalon, a luxurious collection of softly stylized sophistication. Instead of pushing into new territory, Ferry focuses on refinement, polishing his signatures — primarily songs so slow they seem to float, and also the occasional high-end piece of pristine pop-funk — until they’re seamless, the textures shifting so subtly that when the chorus of “Heartache by Numbers” turns eerie, the change in atmosphere is almost subliminal. Such command of mood is a tell-tale sign of a quiet perfectionist, but Olympia doesn’t feel fussy; it’s unruffled and casually elegant, its pleasing familiarity reflecting the persistence of an old master honing his craft.

1 in stock


Virgin ‎– VF021, The Vinyl Factory ‎– VF021 Vinyl, LP, Album, 200g  2010 Out of Print Gatefold cover includes inner sleeve containing lyrics and credits, as well as inserts including a print of the cover and essays.

Side 1.

  1. You Can Dance

  2. Alphaville

  3. Heartache By Numbers

  4. Me Oh My

  5. Shameless

Side 2.

  1. Song To The Siren

  2. No Face, No Name, No Number

  3. BF Bass (Ode To Olympia)

  4. Reason Or Rhyme

  5. Tender Is The Night


Bass – Marcus Miller
Chorus – Aleysha Gordon, Hannah Khemoh, Seweuse Abwa
Drums – Andy Newmark, Tara Ferry
Electronics – John Monkman
Engineer – Simon Willey
Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Ash Howes, Jamie Johnson, John Monkman, Sven Taits, Tim Roe
Guitar – David Williams, Nile Rodgers, Oliver Thompson
Layout – Chris Peyton
Liner Notes – Richard Williams
Management – Alistair Norbury, Isaac Ferry
Mastered By – Bob Ludwig
Mixed By – Bob Clearmountain
Percussion – Frank Ricotti
Photography By – Adam Whitehead
Producer – Bryan Ferry, Johnson Somerset, Rhett Davies
Recorded By [Additional Recording With] – Chris Mullings
Voice, Piano, Keyboards [Keys] – Bryan Ferry

Additional information

Weight 5 kg
LP Condition

(SS) Still Sealed New

Cover Condition

(SS) Still Sealed New