Chet Baker with Åke Johansson Trio ‎– Live In Sweden


Recorded at the end of a tour of Sweden with pianist Åke Johansson’s excellent trio, this is a superb live recording, capturing every nuance of the music played that night at Gothenburg’s Nefertiti Club. The band opens with J.J. Johnson’s ‘Lament’, Chet’s blowing sweetly over some fine brush-work by Levin. Johansson plays the next solo, before Jansson takes over with a mournful bowed-bass, finally handing back to Chet. Chet’s vocal on ‘My Ideal’ is not one of his best, but is sung with feeling, but ‘Beatrice’ is excellent, his blowing a joy to listen to. Charlie Haden’s ‘Ellen David’ is gorgeous, again featuring Kjell Jansson’s bowed bass to good effect. An underrated recording that deserves greater recognition.

1 in stock


Dragon Records ‎– DRLP 56 Stereo 1984 Vinyl LP

Side 1.

1. Lament 12:50
2. My Ideal 7:42

Side 2.

1. Beatrice 10:30
2. Ellen David 8:28
3. You Can’t Go Home Again 7:44


  • Bass – Kjell Jansson
  • Design – Tandemkreatörerna
  • Drums – Göran Levin
  • Engineer – Torbjörn Samuelsson
  • Photography By [Back] – Sten Granath
  • Photography By [Front] – Dan Kjellman
  • Piano – Åke Johansson
  • Trumpet – Chet Baker
  • Vocals – Chet Baker

Additional information

Weight 5 kg
LP Condition

Near Mint (NM or M-)

Cover Condition

Near Mint (NM or M-)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chet Baker with Åke Johansson Trio ‎– Live In Sweden”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *