Depeche Mode ‎– The Singles 81 – 85 (Grey Vinyl)


Rare German Pressing in Grey Vinyl, Hard to Find.

Replacing the original Catching Up with Depeche Mode compilation, Singles 81>85 subtracts two tracks — the lightweight curiosity “Flexible” and “Fly on the Windscreen,” which surfaced to better effect on Black Celebration — and adds two, the full six-minute remix of “Just Can’t Get Enough” and the original version of “Photographic,” Depeche’s recording debut on a 1980 compilation album. The overall collection remains the same, though, namely, a run through the peerless singles that kept the band on the charts in the U.K. and elsewhere, as well as building up their increasing cult following in America. It’s an embarrassment of riches, from such bouncy early hits as “New Life,” “Just Can’t Get Enough,” and “The Meaning of Love” to the increasingly heavier sound of “Everything Counts,” “People Are People,” and “Blasphemous Rumors.” Nearly all the tracks appear in the original single mixes, some quite different from their album versions, others essentially the same (the one subtle difference in “Somebody” is an echoey percussion pattern buried in the mix, for instance). Two otherwise unavailable singles also appear here: “It’s Called a Heart” is pleasant enough, but “Shake the Disease” is great, an obsessive love lyric matched to a wonderful, slow dance melody and an excellent pairing of David Gahan’s more aggressive and Martin Gore’s gentler vocals. As an introduction to Depeche’s brilliant knack for catchy tunes evolving over time into a more challenging but no less popular collection of songs, at once defining and expanding the boundaries of synth pop, look no further.

1 in stock


Mute ‎– INT 146.817 Stereo Grey Vinyl LP 1985 German Pressing

Side 1.

1. Dreaming Of Me 3:44
2. New Life 3:44
3. Just Can’t Get Enough 3:37
4. See You 3:53
5. Leave In Silence 3:59
6. Get The Balance Right 3:12
7. Everything Counts 3:58

Side 2.

1. Love In Itself 3:59
2. People Are People 3:43
3. Master And Servant 3:50
4. Blasphemous Rumours 3:08
5. Shake The Disease 4:47
6. It’s Called A Heart 3:48

Design, Other [Photo Treatment] – David A. Jones, Mark, Martyn Atkins
Engineer – Dave Allen, Eric Radcliffe, Gareth Jones, John Fryer
Performer – Alan Wilder, Andrew Fletcher, Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Vince Clarke
Photography By [Front Cover] – Eric Watson
Producer – Daniel Miller, Depeche Mode, Gareth Jones
Written-By – M. L. Gore, V. Clarke

Additional information

Weight 05 kg
Cover Condition

(NM) Near Mint

LP Condition

Mint (M)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Depeche Mode ‎– The Singles 81 – 85 (Grey Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *